In a resolute stance against terrorism, President Ruto’s government has unveiled a novel approach to encourage public cooperation in the fight against terror.

Cash rewards will be granted to individuals who provide vital information leading to the arrest of suspects involved in recent terror attacks within Lamu County.

During an appearance before the Senate Standing Committee on National Security, Defence, and Foreign Relations, Cabinet Secretary Kithure Kindiki revealed that a list of primary suspects would soon be made public. These individuals are expected to surrender themselves to authorities, or they will face the consequences of an active and determined manhunt.

The government has not only intensified its resolve but has also made substantial progress in reviewing its policies and counter-terrorism measures. Notably, it has established specialized units like the Anti-Terrorism Unit, the National Counterterrorism Centre, the Financial Reporting Centre, the Transnational Organised Crime Unit, the Asset Recovery Agency, and the Kenya Coast Guard Service. These units are pivotal in bolstering the nation’s preparedness and response to terror threats and attacks.

Furthermore, this initiative aligns with the drafting and operationalization of various legislations, including the Proceeds of Crime and Anti-Money Laundering Act, the Prevention of Terrorism Act, 2012, the Security Laws Amendment Act 2014, the Computer Misuse and Cybercrime Act 2018, and amendments to critical acts such as The Anti-Narcotics Act, The Refugee Act, The NGOs Act, and The Firearms Act.

The government’s proactive stance and the promise of cash rewards underscore its unwavering commitment to safeguarding its citizens and maintaining national security. This approach harnesses the collective strength of the public, marking a significant step in the battle against terrorism.