The Governments of The Bahamas and Kenya have signed a communique to formalise their diplomatic relations.

The communique was signed yesterday by the Bahamian Minister of Immigration and National Insurance, Alfred Sears and Kenyan Cabinet Secretary for Foreign and Diaspora Affairs, Dr Musalia Mudavadi on the margins of the 19 Non-Aligned Summit in Uganda.

“This event marks a significant step towards fostering deeper mutual understanding, cooperation, and collaboration between the two nations as part of The Bahamas government’s turn to Sub-Saharan and South-South cooperation,” the Bahamian Ministry of Foreign Affairs said in a statement.

Key highlights of the agreement are that both countries, who are former United Kingdom colonies, agreed to establish diplomatic missions in each other’s capitals “when feasible” and strengthen of diplomatic, economic, and cultural relationships for the benefit of their nationals.

Visa restrictions for nationals of Kenya and The Bahamas have already been dropped.

Both nations are also considering signing a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) on Technical Cooperation.

The ministry said: “This strategic framework will provide a structured platform for regular dialogue on key regional and international issues of mutual interest. The Bahamas currently has several MOUs with countries in Sub-Saharan Africa including South Africa and Botswana.”

The Bahamas and Kenya also pledged to continue their Mission to provide essential security support and capacity building for Haiti.

“This joint effort underscores the commitment to promoting peace, stability, and development in the region,” the ministry said.