Deputy President Rigathi Gachagua has asked Mt Kenya leaders to unite, shun divisive politics and promote greater participation of the youth in productive socio-economic activities.

Speaking at Kiambu Golf Club on Saturday night during a thanksgiving ceremony for golf champion Michael Karanga, the Deputy President said there was a political scheme to divide the Mt Kenya region voting bloc.

He, however, said the schemers will not succeed in their mission as he asked the leaders to focus on development and socio-economic growth of the people.

“I urge the leaders to be united and focused. Those scheming to divide the region should know that the people of Mt Kenya are intelligent and are aware of what is happening. Those seeking to divide us are enemies of the region. Our relevance in national leadership lies on our unity. We know what disunity and divisive politics did us in 1992 and 1997 elections,” he added.

Accompanied by tens of MPs from the region, who declared to rally behind him, Gachagua asked the leaders to be united by the vision of a strong and prosperous community.

Gachagua said he had embraced all leaders across the political divide irrespective of how they campaigned or voted in the 2022 General Election.

“Elections are over, let us the close debate on who voted where because nobody was wrong in making his/her political choice. Let us not remind people where they voted because that is null.  President William Ruto and I decided to move on and unite the people. The region is united behind President William Ruto; the people want development and a conducive environment for their businesses,” he stated.

Leaders present were area MP Waithaka Machua, Kiambu Senator Karungo Thang’wa, Kiambu Woman Representative Anne Wamuratha, Kiambaa MP Njuguna Kawanjiku, Alice Ng’ang’a (Thika Town), Engineer John Kiragu (Limuru), Kamande Mwafrika (Roysambu), MejjaDonk Gathiru (Embakasi Central), members of East Africa Legislative Assembly (EALA) Kanini Kega and Maina Karobia, MCAs among other leaders.

Others were the Chairpersons of Kenya Airports Authority Caleb Kositany and Kenya Golf Union Phillip Ochola.