The Cabinet Secretary for the Ministry of Information, Communications and the Digital Economy, Mr. Eliud Owalo has reassured the Transform African Summit Evaluation Team that Kenya is willing and capable to host the 7th edition of the 2024 Transform Africa Summit (TAS).

“As we await the final decision on the venue of this year’s TAS, we are on standby to immediately commence the planning for hosting this event. The ideals of TAS resonate with our government’s Bottom-Up Economic Transformation Agenda (BETA), which seeks to leverage ICTs for socio-economic development”.

CS Owalo said that last night in a speech read on his behalf by the Broadcasting and Telecommunications Principal Secretary Prof. Edward Kisangani, during a dinner hosted in honor of the TAS Evaluation Team.

The Transform Africa Summit Evaluation Team has been in the country for 4 days to assess Kenya’s readiness to host the Summit and ascertain the status of internet connectivity, healthcare facilities, security, tourism prospects and transportation efficiency, amongst other key determining factors.

Speaking during the event, Mr. Didier Kagabire, Chief Strategy and Growth Officer of Smart Africa, which co-ordinates TAS, said that Kenya has all what it takes to host the event, adding that every facet of their trip satisfied the team that Kenya is ready to host the Summit.

While giving his remarks, PS Kisiang’ani appreciated the TAS efforts, saying that it offered the best platform to transform the African continent through the digital socio-economic strategy.

Mr. Kagabire was accompanied by other officials from Smart Africa; Mr. Boniface Budandi, Director, Events, Partnerships and Marketing, Mr. Yvan Guehi, Director, Communications and Branding and Mr. Gasheja Pascal, Director, Finance and Corporate Affairs.

Among other key leaders present were Ms. Mary Wangai, Board Chair, other Board Members and Mr. Christopher Wambua, Ag. Director-General, Communications Authority of Kenya; Ms. Juliana Yiapan, Secretary of Administration, State Department for Broadcasting and Telecommunications; Chair of the Local Organizing Committee, Mr. Kim ani Waweru, Director Administration, State Department for Broadcasting and Telecommunications; Mr. Stanley Kamanguya, CEO ICTA;  CEOs of TESPOK,  Safaricom, Airtel and Oracle; and other representatives from various Ministries and State Agencies.