President William Ruto on Tuesday revealed East African Heads of State are supporting a single candidate for the African Union Commission Chairperson, noting that it is East Africa’s turn to hold the position.

The Head of State, while addressing the EALA assembly in Nairobi said the agreement attests to the strength of the East African Community (EAC).

“The chair of the AU is coming up next year as the term of our chair Moussa Faki comes to an end. It is going to be the turn for East Africa to provide the chair of the African Union. We have sat down in the spirit of the East African Community, we have consulted as heads of state from the East African Community together and we have agreed to sponsor one candidate as East Africans,” the President said.

Raila Odinga has been fronted by Kenya, and backed by the William Ruto government, to be the next chairperson of the AU Commission.